Filling the Jar

Well, I promised I would update you on what my plan was for 2015.

After an ambitious few years of big and small goals wrapped up in formal ‘resolution’ packages, I knocked around a few ideas on how I would structure things for 2015…but to be honest none of them stuck. I realized I could choose something just to have a resolution, despite not really feeling committed to it, but then I thought…nah.

I think I’m going to give myself a ‘year off’ of big resolution type goals. I had a blast learning 25 new things in 2013, then 2014 brought a few big dreams onto my plate that were very meaningful and exciting to accomplish. But this year I find myself not needing a driving plan for making each day count.

It feels like my life has filled up similar to the object lesson where you fill a jar with rocks and ask if it’s full, and it is, but it isn’t, because then you pour sand in which filters through the cracks, and then you ask if it’s full, and you think it is, but then you pour water in to fill it up even more and at that point it’s pretty safe to say it is full.

rocks-in-a-jar

That’s how I’m feeling about things. I’m thrilled with the fullness of my life and loving making the most of it.

My work teaching Grade 4/5 continues to be challenging and rewarding, instructing in the Faculty of Ed at Brock is truly inspiring and a lot of fun, and the courses I’m taking towards completing my MEd are something I look forward to weekly. These three things, plus family, friends and our home church community make up the rocks filling my jar. And I love them. Very much.

The sand things filling my jar are: training with my triathlon/running club as often as I can, reading good books with my book club and spending time with my favourite dog in the whole wide world.

Lastly, the water things – that in the increasingly rare circumstance where I have some free time to enjoy- include cooking, finding new music (I’m definitely overdue for putting out a playlist of good tunes!), crossword puzzles, enjoying reruns of the The Office – forgot how totally hilarious this show was, and long chats over tea with James.

So that’s what’s up in 2015. I am happily cutting myself some slack from a formal resolution to focus on and enjoy the things that are already keeping my life full.

I am happy to be in a season of richness and fullness. I know new adventures lie ahead, and so I am trying to enjoy being in the now and all of the goodness it holds.

Wishing you goodness this year, however that may look in your life.

Leave a comment